, , , , , , , , ,

The president claims that he does not need Congressional approval to launch strikes against Iran – but he is flat out wrong.

Article I, section 8 of the Constitution could not be clearer: it is Congress – and Congress alone – that has the authority to “declare war.” (US Senator Udall), 12:45 PM – 27 Jun 2019 https://archive.li/ze8qt )

40 voted to abdicate their responsibility as US Senators. 10 abdicated their responsibility as US Senators by not even voting!

Vote Count
Roll Call Vote 116th Congress – 1st Session
Vote Summary 
Question: On the Amendment (Udall Amdt. No. 883 )
Vote Number: 189
Vote Date: June 28, 2019, 05:02 AM
Required For Majority: 3/5
Vote Result: Amendment Rejected
Amendment Number: S.Amdt. 883 to S. 1790 (National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020)
Statement of Purpose: To prohibit unauthorized military operations in or against Iran.

Vote Counts:
YEAs 50
Not Voting

*Information compiled through Senate LIS by the Senate bill clerk under the direction of the secretary of the Senate
Vote Summary
By Vote Position
By Senator Name
By Home State

Grouped By Vote Position 
YEAs —50

Baldwin (D-WI)
Bennet (D-CO)
Blumenthal (D-CT)
Booker (D-NJ)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Collins (R-ME)
Cortez Masto (D-NV)
Duckworth (D-IL)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Gillibrand (D-NY)
Harris (D-CA)
Hassan (D-NH)
Heinrich (D-NM)
Hirono (D-HI)
Jones (D-AL)
Kaine (D-VA)
King (I-ME)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Leahy (D-VT)
Lee (R-UT)
Manchin (D-WV)
Markey (D-MA)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Merkley (D-OR)
Moran (R-KS)
Murphy (D-CT)
Murray (D-WA)
Paul (R-KY)
Peters (D-MI)
Reed (D-RI)
Rosen (D-NV)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schatz (D-HI)
Schumer (D-NY)
Shaheen (D-NH)
Sinema (D-AZ)
Smith (D-MN)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Tester (D-MT)
Udall (D-NM)
Van Hollen (D-MD)
Warner (D-VA)
Warren (D-MA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)

NAYs —40
Alexander (R-TN)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Boozman (R-AR)
Capito (R-WV)
Cassidy (R-LA)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Cotton (R-AR)
Crapo (R-ID)
Cruz (R-TX)
Daines (R-MT)
Enzi (R-WY)
Ernst (R-IA)
Fischer (R-NE)
Gardner (R-CO)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Hawley (R-MO)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johnson (R-WI)
Kennedy (R-LA)
Lankford (R-OK)
McConnell (R-KY)
McSally (R-AZ)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Perdue (R-GA)
Portman (R-OH)
Risch (R-ID)
Romney (R-UT)
Rubio (R-FL)
Sasse (R-NE)
Scott (R-SC)
Shelby (R-AL)
Sullivan (R-AK)
Thune (R-SD)
Tillis (R-NC)
Toomey (R-PA)
Wicker (R-MS)
Young (R-IN)

Not Voting – 10
Blackburn (R-TN)
Blunt (R-MO)
Braun (R-IN)
Burr (R-NC)
Coons (D-DE)
Cramer (R-ND)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rounds (R-SD)
Scott (R-FL)

Alphabetical by Senator Name 
Alexander (R-TN), Nay
Baldwin (D-WI), Yea
Barrasso (R-WY), Nay
Bennet (D-CO), Yea
Blackburn (R-TN), Not Voting
Blumenthal (D-CT), Yea
Blunt (R-MO), Not Voting
Booker (D-NJ), Yea
Boozman (R-AR), Nay
Braun (R-IN), Not Voting
Brown (D-OH), Yea
Burr (R-NC), Not Voting
Cantwell (D-WA), Yea
Capito (R-WV), Nay
Cardin (D-MD), Yea
Carper (D-DE), Yea
Casey (D-PA), Yea
Cassidy (R-LA), Nay
Collins (R-ME), Yea
Coons (D-DE), Not Voting
Cornyn (R-TX), Nay
Cortez Masto (D-NV), Yea
Cotton (R-AR), Nay
Cramer (R-ND), Not Voting
Crapo (R-ID), Nay
Cruz (R-TX), Nay
Daines (R-MT), Nay
Duckworth (D-IL), Yea
Durbin (D-IL), Yea
Enzi (R-WY), Nay
Ernst (R-IA), Nay
Feinstein (D-CA), Yea
Fischer (R-NE), Nay
Gardner (R-CO), Nay
Gillibrand (D-NY), Yea
Graham (R-SC), Nay
Grassley (R-IA), Nay
Harris (D-CA), Yea
Hassan (D-NH), Yea
Hawley (R-MO), Nay
Heinrich (D-NM), Yea
Hirono (D-HI), Yea
Hoeven (R-ND), Nay
Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Nay
Inhofe (R-OK), Not Voting
Isakson (R-GA), Nay
Johnson (R-WI), Nay
Jones (D-AL), Yea
Kaine (D-VA), Yea
Kennedy (R-LA), Nay
King (I-ME), Yea
Klobuchar (D-MN), Yea
Lankford (R-OK), Nay
Leahy (D-VT), Yea
Lee (R-UT), Yea
Manchin (D-WV), Yea
Markey (D-MA), Yea
McConnell (R-KY), Nay
McSally (R-AZ), Nay
Menendez (D-NJ), Yea
Merkley (D-OR), Yea
Moran (R-KS), Yea
Murkowski (R-AK), Nay
Murphy (D-CT), Yea
Murray (D-WA), Yea
Paul (R-KY), Yea
Perdue (R-GA), Nay
Peters (D-MI), Yea
Portman (R-OH), Nay
Reed (D-RI), Yea
Risch (R-ID), Nay
Roberts (R-KS), Not Voting
Romney (R-UT), Nay
Rosen (D-NV), Yea
Rounds (R-SD), Not Voting
Rubio (R-FL), Nay
Sanders (I-VT), Yea
Sasse (R-NE), Nay
Schatz (D-HI), Yea
Schumer (D-NY), Yea
Scott (R-FL), Not Voting
Scott (R-SC), Nay
Shaheen (D-NH), Yea
Shelby (R-AL), Nay
Sinema (D-AZ), Yea
Smith (D-MN), Yea
Stabenow (D-MI), Yea
Sullivan (R-AK), Nay
Tester (D-MT), Yea
Thune (R-SD), Nay
Tillis (R-NC), Nay
Toomey (R-PA), Nay
Udall (D-NM), Yea
Van Hollen (D-MD), Yea
Warner (D-VA), Yea
Warren (D-MA), Yea
Whitehouse (D-RI), Yea
Wicker (R-MS), Nay
Wyden (D-OR), Yea
Young (R-IN), Nay

Grouped by Home State 
Alabama: Jones (D-AL), Yea Shelby (R-AL), Nay Alaska: Murkowski (R-AK), Nay Sullivan (R-AK), Nay Arizona: McSally (R-AZ), Nay Sinema (D-AZ), Yea Arkansas: Boozman (R-AR), Nay Cotton (R-AR), Nay California: Feinstein (D-CA), Yea Harris (D-CA), Yea Colorado: Bennet (D-CO), Yea Gardner (R-CO), Nay Connecticut: Blumenthal (D-CT), Yea Murphy (D-CT), Yea Delaware: Carper (D-DE), Yea Coons (D-DE), Not Voting Florida: Rubio (R-FL), Nay Scott (R-FL), Not Voting Georgia: Isakson (R-GA), Nay Perdue (R-GA), Nay Hawaii: Hirono (D-HI), Yea Schatz (D-HI), Yea Idaho: Crapo (R-ID), Nay Risch (R-ID), Nay Illinois: Duckworth (D-IL), Yea Durbin (D-IL), Yea Indiana: Braun (R-IN), Not Voting Young (R-IN), Nay Iowa: Ernst (R-IA), Nay Grassley (R-IA), Nay Kansas: Moran (R-KS), Yea Roberts (R-KS), Not Voting Kentucky: McConnell (R-KY), Nay Paul (R-KY), Yea Louisiana: Cassidy (R-LA), Nay Kennedy (R-LA), Nay Maine: Collins (R-ME), Yea King (I-ME), Yea Maryland: Cardin (D-MD), Yea Van Hollen (D-MD), Yea Massachusetts: Markey (D-MA), Yea Warren (D-MA), Yea Michigan: Peters (D-MI), Yea Stabenow (D-MI), Yea Minnesota: Klobuchar (D-MN), Yea Smith (D-MN), Yea Mississippi: Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Nay Wicker (R-MS), Nay Missouri: Blunt (R-MO), Not Voting Hawley (R-MO), Nay Montana: Daines (R-MT), Nay Tester (D-MT), Yea Nebraska: Fischer (R-NE), Nay Sasse (R-NE), Nay Nevada: Cortez Masto (D-NV), Yea Rosen (D-NV), Yea New Hampshire: Hassan (D-NH), Yea Shaheen (D-NH), Yea New Jersey: Booker (D-NJ), Yea Menendez (D-NJ), Yea New Mexico: Heinrich (D-NM), Yea Udall (D-NM), Yea New York: Gillibrand (D-NY), Yea Schumer (D-NY), Yea North Carolina: Burr (R-NC), Not Voting Tillis (R-NC), Nay North Dakota: Cramer (R-ND), Not Voting Hoeven (R-ND), Nay Ohio: Brown (D-OH), Yea Portman (R-OH), Nay Oklahoma: Inhofe (R-OK), Not Voting Lankford (R-OK), Nay Oregon: Merkley (D-OR), Yea Wyden (D-OR), Yea Pennsylvania: Casey (D-PA), Yea Toomey (R-PA), Nay Rhode Island: Reed (D-RI), Yea Whitehouse (D-RI), Yea South Carolina: Graham (R-SC), Nay Scott (R-SC), Nay South Dakota: Rounds (R-SD), Not Voting Thune (R-SD), Nay Tennessee: Alexander (R-TN), Nay Blackburn (R-TN), Not Voting Texas: Cornyn (R-TX), Nay Cruz (R-TX), Nay Utah: Lee (R-UT), Yea Romney (R-UT), Nay Vermont: Leahy (D-VT), Yea Sanders (I-VT), Yea Virginia: Kaine (D-VA), Yea Warner (D-VA), Yea Washington: Cantwell (D-WA), Yea Murray (D-WA), Yea West Virginia: Capito (R-WV), Nay Manchin (D-WV), Yea Wisconsin: Baldwin (D-WI), Yea Johnson (R-WI), Nay Wyoming: