Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The UK’s Windscale and Russia’s (USSR) Kyshtym-Mayak Nuclear Disasters both occurred 60 yrs ago in 1957. Mayak on the 29 Sept and the Windscale fire was discovered on 10 Oct. but took several days to put out.

Mining Awareness +

Anthony Neil Wedgwood (Tony) Benn (3 April 1925 – 14 March 2014) was a Member of the British Parliament (MP) for 47 years between 1950 and 2001, and served as Minister of Technology (1966-1970), Secretary of State for Industry (1974-75) and for Energy (1975-79). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Benn Thus, he was a Member of Parliament during the Windscale fire of 10 October 1957.

Tony Benn speaking in the British Parliament:
The real reason why I want to contribute to the debate is because of the nuclear industry, for which I had responsibility for many years. Recent events at Sellafield confirm what I learned by experience; even as a Minister–let alone a Member of Parliament–I was never told the truth by the nuclear industry. For example, I found out about the fire at Windscale–now called Sellafield–only when I visited Tokyo. My officials had never told me about it. When I asked them why…

View original post 1,487 more words